Imokalea, which is Chickasaw for “happy place”, was built by Stephen Knapp (1806-1878) in 1844. In 1857 the house was renovated after a fire. Stephen and his wife Louisa Knapp (1831-1878) lived here until 1878, when they both tragically died in the Yellow Fever Epidemic. Between 1880 and 1898 the house was owned by R. E. Walker, who sold the home to John S. Doxey (1858-1948) in 1898. Doxey was the sheriff of Marshall County, and the father of United States Senator Wall Doxey (1892-1962), who grew up in this home.
Between 1905 and 1923 the house was owned by Farquhard McAuley (1839-1909), Willie M. Wilkins (1874-1963) and J. C. Tucker (1895-1966). In 1923 the house was bought by John T. Wade (1885-1956). The Wade family lived here for almost 50 years, before they sold the house to Raymond H. Rogers in 1971. Rogers owned the house from 1971 until 1987, when it was sold to Tom C. Stewart. It was the Stewart family who gave the house its current name “Imokalea”. In 1996 the house was bought by William and Joyce Phillips, who continue to live in the house today.
Throughout the years, Imokalea has been known by many other names, including the Knapp-Wade House and Doxey Cottage. Imokalea is the second oldest brick structure in Holly Springs. Due to the constant rebricking, the walls of the house are 2-and-a-half feet thick. In the front lawn of Imokalea is a unique artifact from Holly Springs’ past: a capital from a Greek column which once belonged to the Pointer House , an antebellum mansion which was destroyed by fire in 1898.
Imokalea is a one-and-a-half story raised basement brick Greek Revival, which has been stuccoed and painted pink. There are exterior end chimneys, and a single-bay pedimented portico supported by Tuscan piers.